Egypt Football Gabon Senegal

Mohamed Salah crowned 2017 CAF African Player of the Year

Egyptian international Mohamed Salah has been crowned the 2017 African Player of the Year by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) at a ceremony in Accra, Ghana.

The event held in Ghana was dubbed the ‘AITEO CAFAWARDS 2017.’ It also awarded other personalities in the football industry over the last year.

Salah beat off competition from Sadio Mane of Senegal  and 2015 winner Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon Sadio Mane came in second, whiles Aubameyang was third.

Salah joins a long list of stars who have won the prestigious award, including Didier Drogba, George Weah, Roger Milla and Yaya Toure

Mohamed Salah crowned 2017 CAF African Player of the Year

The full list of winners on the night is as follows:

Egypt and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah as 2017 African Player of the Year

2nd place – Sadio mane of Senegal and Liverpool

3rd place – Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Dortmund.

Platinum award to Ghana president Nana Akufo-Addo & Liberia president-elect George Weah

Female footballer of the year: Assisat Oshoola of Nigeria

National team of the year: Pharaohs of Egypt

Young African footballer of the year: Patson Daka (Zambia)

Coach of the Year: Hector Cuper of Egypt

Club of the year: Wydad Athletic Club of Morocco

Football Leader of the Year: Ahmed Yahya.


Women’s National Team Of The Year 2017: Bayana Bayana (South Africa)

CAF Legends Award: Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

Also see: Revised Date for Africa Cup of Nations Cameroon 2019 qualifiers



Related posts

Premier League top scorers: Aubameyang Overtakes Mohamed Salah

Agency Reports

Africa Cup of Nations: Caf says ‘Cameroon officially accepts to host 2021

Agency Reports

Confederation of African Football: “No decision on 2021 Nations Cup hosts”

Agency Reports

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy