Niger or the Niger, officially the Republic of the Niger is a landlocked country in West Africa that is named after the Niger River. Nigeria and Benin border it to the south, Mali and Burkina Faso to the west, Libya and Algeria to the north, and Chad to the east. Its total area is 1,270,000 sq. km and 80 percent of Niger is covered by the Sahara. Its population of more than 17,4 million people are mostly Muslim and live in the south and west.
Capital: Niamey

Official languages: French

Currency: West African CFA franc

Time zone: WAT ( UTC +1)

Dialling Code: +227

To know more about Niger ( Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety, Museum Guide)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *