Guinea-Bissau is a tropical country on West Africa’s Atlantic coast that’s known for national parks and wildlife. The forested, sparsely populated Bijagós archipelago is a protected biosphere reserve. Its main island, Bubaque, forms part of the Orango Islands National Park, a habitat for saltwater hippos. On the mainland, the capital, Bissau, is a port with Portuguese colonial buildings in its old city center.
​Located in West Africa, the Republic of Guinea-Bissau borders Guinea to the south and east, Senegal to the north, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The country covers 37,000 sq. km. and has a population of 1,693,398.

Guinea-Bissau was part of multiple kingdoms including the Gabu, part of Mali. It later became a Portuguese colony known as Portuguese Guinea in the 1800s. Independence was declared in 1973 and recognized in 1974. At that time, the name of the capital city, Bissau, was added to the name of the country to prevent confusion with the Republic of Guinea.

Capital: Bissau

Official languages: Portuguese

Dialling code: +245

Currency: West African CFA franc

Time zone: GMT ( UTC +0)

For more information about Guinea-Bissau (Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, What to Do, Getting Around, Safety, News & More,Museum Guide)




Related posts

United Republic of Tanzania


Togo (Togolese Republic)


Republic of Tunisia 


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy