Malawi is a landlocked country in southeast Africa. It was formerly known as Nyasaland and is bordered by Tanzania to the northeast, Zambia to the northwest, and Mozambique to the east, south, and west. Lake Malawi separates the country from Mozambique. It has a population of 17,377,468 and an area of 118,484 sq. km. Lilongwe is the capital.

Malawi is defined by its topography of highlands split by the Great Rift Valley and enormous Lake Malawi. The lake’s southern end falls within Lake Malawi National Park – sheltering diverse wildlife from colorful fish to baboons – and its clear waters are popular for diving and boating. Peninsular Cape Maclear is known for its beach resorts.

Capital: Lilongwe

Official languages: English

Currency: Kwacha (D) ( MWK )

Dialing code: +265

Time zone: CAT ( UTC +2)

To know more about Malawi ( Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety, Museum Guide)




Related posts

Madonna called David Banda, “the future president of Malawi”


The Most Amazing Places In Africa to Visit in 2018


United Republic of Tanzania


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy