Mali, a landlocked country in Western Africa, shares a border with Niger on the east, Burkina Faso and the Côte d’Ivoire on the south, Guinea to the south-west, Senegal and Mauritania to the west, and Algeria to the north. Mali is the eighth-largest country in Africa, with an area of just over 1,240,000 square kilometres. Its population is over 16 million and the country’s size is 1,240,192 sq. km.

Bamako is the capital. There are eight regions in Mali and its north reaches into the Sahara while the south contains the Niger and Senegal rivers. Agriculture and fishing are cornerstones of the economy, while resources include salt, gold, and uranium.

Capital: Bamako

Official languages: French

Currency: West African CFA franc

Dialing code: +223

Time zone: GMT ( UTC +0)

To know more about Mali ( Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety, Museum Guide)




Related posts

Four UN peacekeepers killed in central Mali mine blast


Africans are not showing the real desire to leave the CFA franc zone 


United Republic of Tanzania


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy