Morocco is located in North Africa and has a population of 33 million. Including the disputed Western Sahara, its area is 710,850 sq. km. Morocco claims the territory of Western Sahara, the political status of which is considered undetermined by the US Government; portions of the regions Guelmim-Es Smara and Laayoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra as claimed by Morocco lie within Western Sahara; Morocco also claims Oued Eddahab-Lagouira, another region that falls entirely within Western Sahara.

Morocco borders the Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea and is distinguished by its Berber, Arabian and European cultural influences. Marrakesh’s medina, a mazelike medieval quarter, offers entertainment in its Djemaa el-Fna square and souks (marketplaces) selling ceramics, jewelry and metal lanterns. The capital Rabat’s Kasbah of the Udayas is a 12th-century royal fort overlooking the water.

Capital: Rabat

Official languages: Arabic, Berber

Native languages: Moroccan Arabic; Berber; Hassaniya Arabic

Currency: Moroccan dirham

Dialing code: +212

Time Zone: GMT ( UTC )

To know more about Morocco ( Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety, Museum Guide)




Related posts

CHAN 2018: Morocco become the first host nation to lift the Trophy after beating Nigeria


CHAN 2018: Cameroon are out of contention after losing 1-0 to Angola


The Most Amazing Places In Africa to Visit in 2018


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy