Namibia is in southern Africa and borders the Atlantic Ocean to west, Angola and Zambia to the north, Botswana to the east, and South Africa to the south and east. Namibia gained independence on March 21, 1990 after the Namibian War for Independence ended. Windhoek is the largest city. The country belongs to the U.N. the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the Commonwealth of Nations, and the African Union.
Namibia is distinguished by the Namib Desert along its Atlantic Ocean coast. The country is home to diverse wildlife, including a significant cheetah population. The capital, Windhoek, and coastal town Swakopmund contain German colonial-era buildings such as Windhoek’s Christuskirche, built in 1907. In the north, Etosha National Park’s salt pan draws game including rhinos and giraffes.

Capital: Windhoek

Official languages: English

Currencies: South African rand, Namibian dollar

Time Zone: CAT ( UTC +2)

Dialling Code: +264

To know more about Namibia ( Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety, Museum Guide)




Related posts

The Most Amazing Places In Africa to Visit in 2018


United Republic of Tanzania


Togo (Togolese Republic)


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy