Republic of Mauritius 

The Republic of Mauritius is an island nation in the southwest Indian Ocean off of Africa’s southeast coast. It sits 900 km east of Madagascar. Additional islands are also part of the country, including Agalega, Cargados, Carajos, and Rodrigues.

Mauritius, an Indian Ocean island nation, is known for its beaches, lagoons and reefs. The mountainous interior includes Black River Gorges National Park, with rainforests, waterfalls, hiking trails and wildlife like the flying fox. Capital Port Louis has sites such as the Champs de Mars horse track, Eureka plantation house and 18th-century Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Gardens.

Capital: Port Louis

Official languages: Nonea

Vernacular languages: Mauritian Creole,                                               French, English, Bhojpuri

Currency: Mauritian rupee

Dialling Code: +230

Time zone: MUT ( UTC +4)

To know more about Mauritius ( Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety, Museum Guide)




Related posts

United Republic of Tanzania


Togo (Togolese Republic)


Republic of Tunisia 


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy