Republic of Senegal

Senegal is a country in western Africa that is south of the Senegal River. The Atlantic Ocean is to the west. Mauritania is to the north, Mali to the east, and Guinea-Bissau and Guinea to the south. The country completely surrounds The Gambia with the exception of Gambia’s small coastline on the Atlantic. Senegal’s area is 197,000 sq. km. and the population is estimated at over 13,6 million. There are two seasons, the rainy and the dry.
Senegal is a country with a rich French colonial heritage and many natural attractions. Dakar, the capital, features the ancient Médina district and esteemed Musée Théodore Monod, displaying African art. Dakar is also known for its nightlife, centred on native mbalax music. Saint-Louis, formerly the capital of French West Africa, has an old town with colonial architecture.

Capital: Dakar

Official languages: French

Currencies: CFA franc, West African CFA franc
Dialing code: +221

Time zone: GMT ( UTC+0)

To know more about Senegal ( Facts & Figures, Tourism, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety, Museum Guide)




Related posts

United Republic of Tanzania


Togo (Togolese Republic)


Republic of Tunisia 


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy