Togo (Togolese Republic)

The Togolese Republic, also known as Togo, sits in West Africa. It extends south to the Gulf of Guinea, and is bordered on the north by Burkina Faso, Benin to the east, and Ghana on the west. Togo, with a population of over 7.3 million people, is 57,000 square kilometers (22,000 sq mi) in area. Togo’s capital is Lomé, located in the Gulf of Guinea. Togo is a sub-Saharan nation, with a good growing climate that supports its dependence on agriculture.
Togo is known for its palm-lined beaches and hilltop villages. Koutammakou, inhabited by the Batammariba people, is a traditional settlement of fortresslike clay huts dating to the 17th century. In the capital, Lomé, are the multistory Grand Marché bazaar and the Fetish Market, offering traditional talismans and remedies relating to the vodun (voodoo) religion.

Capital: Lomé

Official language: French

Dialing code: +228

Currency: CFA franc

Time zone: GMT ( UTC+0)

To know more about Togo ( Facts & Figures, Map, Travel Advice, When to Go, Getting Around, Safety News & More)

Click Here



Related posts

Africa Daily News Reviews 30th October; Cameroon, Nigeria, Kenya, Uganda,Togo, Ghana


Africans are not showing the real desire to leave the CFA franc zone 


Mass Protests in Togo for Constitutional Reform and immediate resignation of President Faure Gnassingbe


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy